Wales Sucking

Riparian Vegetation function as the building blocks for much aquatic life in Australia!

Riparian Vegetation function as the building blocks for much aquatic life in Australia!

The first hostel we stayed at sucked. It is very big and impersonal. My roommates were a creepy 72 year old man from New Zealand and two terrible Welsh guys about my age.

Noteworthy things about these people:

-The old man being there:
It was very uncomfortable to speak to him or look him in the eye

-The weird Welsh kids:
First off is the fact that they shared a bed and slept head to toe. What the hell? There are 4 beds, 4 very small beds. We can each at least have our own small bed. But they chose to share a bed, and leave one empty. I was too scared and confused to inquire as to why they chose to do this.

-The annoying Welsh kids (same kids) (2 Parts):
Part 1: They continuously hassled me for my booze. Naturally, Phil and I bought all of the liquor we could carry from the duty free shop in the Sydney Airport. These were our most valuable (and heaviest) possessions. They were bought to essentially bribe people into being our friends, and I didn’t want to waste sweet sweet booze on foreigners with perplexing sleeping arrangements.

I can't believe how close they let you get to the Riparian Vegetation! This city is full of mystery and wonder.

I can’t believe how close they let you get to the Riparian Vegetation! This city is full of mystery and wonder.

Part 2: I woke up early one morning to the Welsh kids snoring like freight trains, and on top of that they had their retarded little ipod nano with built in speakers blaring The Fray or some crap like that which used to be constantly playing at Buffalo Wing University (god bless that fine establishment). So I go to get off my top bunk (they were sleeping below me… together) so I can snatch the ipod and turn it off. I chose to jump off my bunk, however, because the latter wasn’t very good. Unfortunately, I was wearing my gym shorts. When I jumped, the got caught on some pole, and instead of landing on the floor, I was actually suspended in mid air, dangling from my shorts. Luckily the shorts didn’t snag where you don’t want shorts to snag, but they rather caught the fleshy part of my upper thy (I still have a huge bruise there). After flailing my legs and shouting “What the F***” the creepy old Kiwi wakes

up and says something. I chose to ignore him (he is old and probably thought it was a dream or that he had died, either way I didn’t care). I managed to un-hang myself, snatch the ipod out the Welsh weirdo’s hand and turn of the god awful music. True story.

Overall the hostel blew. I didn’t really make any friends. The only person I met was the gorgeous French girl named Anne-Carol… she never new how much I loved her.

That is enough about my first hostel. The second one was only stranger and more hilarious. I’ll write about that one later.

-James

Leave a Reply

